The Obvious
RioGuides is revamping it's website, please be patient for a better experience...
RioGuides

  • Register

Santa Teresa

Santa Teresa

One of the most charming neighborhoods of the city, showing to the Brazilians as well as the foreigners that it is possible to maintain a rural place in the midst of a big metropolitan city. The residents still known each other and the sights and attractions in Santa Teresa are endless. There are no traffic lights, the buildings have no garage and there is not one gas station to be found in the whole neighborhood. 
All buildings are considered historical heritage. Many foreigners want to settle in this neighborhood where the climate and the atmosphere resemble the one from southern Europe. As there are more than 70 workshops, the neighborhood is crowded with artists, craftsmen and musicians. 
One of the charms is the cable car (Bonde) which passes over the aqueduct of Lapa. Not only famous but also one of the cheapest means of transportation in the city! The name given to the cable car on itself is an interesting curiosity, when they inaugurated the cable cars in 1879, the value of a ticket was "200 Reis", and there was no equivalent for that value in the existing ballots or currency. So the company of the cable cars issued a kind of coupon or voucher. These vouchers were printed in the U.S.A. and so the people started using the name "Bonds" (Bonus, Action).

Atractions:
  • Santa Teresa tram
  • Museum Chácara do Céu
  • Parc of the Ruins
  • Castel of Valentim
  • Hotel Santa Teresa (the old Santa Teresa farm)
  • Monastery of Santa Teresa
  • Workshops
  • Restaurants and bars
  • Our Lady of the snow church
  • Museum of the tram

History of the Aquaduct of Lapa:

1602: Studies are started to examen the viability of building an aquaduct to bring the water from the Tijuca forest to the city center.
1629: Antônio Gomes do Desterro has construction started on the church of Our Lady of Exile, that's why Santa Teresa is known also as the hill of Exile.
1638: A new law is put in place to expel the inhabitants of thebanks of the Carioca River,thus preventingpollution fromdairy farms andtobacco plantations.
1706: Construction of theaqueduct begins.

1723: The governorAiresSaldanha brings the waterto theLargo de SantoAntonio, andopensthe source of theCarioca river to the publicwith 11fountains,drinking fountainsfor horses andwashing tanks.
1744: The governer buysland inLargo deFrance forthe water tank.
1750: GovernorGomesFreire deAndradeisbuilding theSantaTeresa Monastery (of cloisteredCarmelite nuns), this monastery gives the neighborhood its new name. He also repaires the pipes transporting thewater and the aquaduct.

1785: Riverwater of other areas is added to the water supply of the city (Lagoinha, Caboclas and Silvestre).
1831: Water of Paineiras is added.
1872: Decreeof the Emperor gives a license for 16 years to transport passengersand cargo over a railway to the hills ofSantaTeresaand PaulaMattos.
1896: The 1st ofSeptemberthe first line of trams is inaugurated. The aqueductturns into a viaduct. On June 9thanendurance racewith the tram cars is donewith aload of 10tonsfor 2 hours on the bows of the viaduct.

1897: A line extension "Paula Mattos" (1500 m.) is added to the existingline "Carioca -Silvestre"(9500m.).

Santa Teresa

Address:
Rio de Janeiro RJ Brazil

Latitude: -22.923098
Longitude: -43.191665
Route options