Museums
RioGuides is revamping it's website, please be patient for a better experience...
RioGuides

  • Register

The Fiscal Island

The fiscal Island

The building, which occupies 1,000 square meters of the island, was designed in 1881 in neo-Gothic style, by engineer Adolfo del Vecchio and was inaugurated on April 27, 1889. The graceful palace was intended to house the headquarters for monitoring the import and export from the port of Rio de Janeiro. The island became famous for having housed the last ball of the court during the Empire, organized by the Visconde de Ouro Preto.

Read more: The Fiscal Island

National Museum of Brazil

National Museum

The National Museum of Rio de Janeiro is located in the old palace of the emperors of Brazil " O Palacio São Cristovão". The museum itself was founded as the Royal Museum by the King of Portugal Dom João VI in 1818 to give an incentive for scientific research in Brazil, an almost inexistent area in the immense colony of Portugal. The museum started out as a showcase for the botanical and animal species of Brazil, especially birds, that is why the museum got the nickname "House of the birds". The museum was first located in the center of the city at the Santana parc, it was only after the imperial period of Brazil that the museum was relocated in the old Palace of the Emperors at Quinta da Boa Vista.

Read more: National Museum of Brazil

National Library of Rio de Janeiro

National Library

The National Library of Brazil, also called the National Library of Rio de Janeiro, is the repository of bibliographic and documentary heritage of Brazil, considered by UNESCO as the seventh national library in the world and also the largest library in Latin America. Among her many responsibilities are the preservation, updating a collection of more than eight million pieces, which began with the arrival of the Royal Library of Portugal to Brazil and is growing every day, through donations, acquisitions and the legal deposit.

Read more: National Library of Rio de Janeiro

Museum of Modern Art

The museum of Modern Art of Rio de Janeiro was inaugurated in 1958, the MAM has a very unusual history. It is located near the national airport "Santos Dumont" in the Flamengo Park alongside Guanabara Bay, close to downtown. After a disastrous fire in 1978, hundreds of people all over the world flocked to rebuild this cultural treasure, helping repair the building and replace its collections. It currently houses some 11,000 works including paintings, sculptures and engravings by Brazilian and foreign artists, in addition to a specialized art library and a well-known cinemathèque that is among the most popular in town.

Read more: Museum of Modern Art

Museum of the Republic

Museum of the Republic

The Baron of Nova Friburgo, Antonio Clemente Pinto, owner of 15 farms located in the highlands of the state of Rio de Janeiro was living in Nova Friburgo but wanted to move to the city of Rio de Janeiro.  The Baron contracted a German architect Carl Friedrich Gustav Waehneldt to build his mansion called "Palace Nova Friburgo" (nowadays  Catete Palace). It was built between 1858 and 1867 and is located in the neighborhood of Catete.  He also contracted people of different nationalities, like German, Portuguese, French and Brazilians, with different specialties, such as architects, painters, sculptors, plasterers, carvers and carpenters  among others and of course a lot of slaves to do the work. In July 1866 the family Clemente Pinto moved to the new palace. But 3 years after the Baron's passed away and his wife Laura Clementina Pinto da Silva also died the following year. Their son Antonio Clemente Pinto inherited the palace.

Read more: Museum of the Republic